It is better to learn the way People lived in the past through films and video records than written document. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Films and video records are a better source for learning about history as compared to the written documents. I agree with the statement that using audio-visual aids is an intersting way to learn with clearity and recall the instances of past. This essay will discuss both view points by providing suitable explainations and examples.

The central reason behind preference of written documents is twofold, firstly, they help retaining the originality of incidents. This is because written documents like books, novels or papers are straight forward and writers tend not to over exaggerate in their writtings. Secondly, written documents facilitate easy revision detailed concepts of history and help kids to enhance reading skills. For example, one can easily revise a concept that they have read before in a short time.

On the other hand, there are significant advantages of learning through videos and films. Firstly, one can gain betterunderstanding and clearity of people’s lifestyle by watching films as it provides greater insights of past traditions and cultures. For example there are many movies that shows Indian culture and traditions giving clear picture of the Indian history like Bhagat Singh and ,so on. Secondly, it is more intersting approach towards learning as it enables people to wittness history themselves, making them more emotionally involved. Research shows that an individual learns better from audio visual aids. Additionally, it could also help them in remembering and recalling details in a better way.

From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that video and films are better way to learn about past people. Although written documents have their own relevance but video records can provide far better understanding of concepts.