It is crucial for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks do you agree or disagree

Public spaces such as squares and parks play a vital role in development and welfare of urban areas. Although these spaces can lead to increased crime rates, I personally advocate such initiatives based on the positive effect on public health and the fabric of the community.

On the one hand, criminal behaviors can increase in such public areas. A typical example is Nguyen Hue Pedestrian Street in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Since its official launch, this square has attracted millions of visitors who enjoy strolling, gathering with friends and cherishing moments with family. However, as visitors are tightly packed in the squares and often get distracted by conversations, they are vulnerable to pickpocketing or may unknowingly be injected with drugs. This, in turn, not only inflicts damage on victims but also exerts a detrimental influence on the emblematic representation of Ho Chi Minh City as a safe and hospitable destination, thereby potentially resulting in a downturn in tourist arrivals.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the utilization of outdoor spaces promotes better physical health. Indeed, exercise equipment and fitness activities are widely available in many parks and public squares at no cost, ensuring equal access to physical well-being opportunities for all residents. For example, in Ho Chi Minh City, these squares and parks are equipped with exercise facilities and offer structured activities for dwellers, particularly the middle-aged demographic, which are often held in the early mornings or early evenings. The practice of regular exercise has been demonstrated to potentially reduce the risk of proning to chronic diseases, which improves mental health and enhances comprehensive well-being. Furthermore, these public spaces are often places where people, especially young individuals, can socialize and connect with others or engage in activities which are designed to facilitate social interactions, offering them opportunities to share experiences, strengthen their civic engagement and build new relationships, whether as companions or even romantic partners. Consequently, it allows citizens to build strong and versatile social networks, which is essential for creating a harmonious and inclusive urban environment.

In conclusion, although there is a risk of social issues, I concur that public squares should be encouraged to develop in many countries and towns which foster a healthy lifestyle and strong social bonds, enhancing health and happiness. Therefore, it should be cultivated and preserved in our contemporary world.