It is difficult for people living in cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions can be taken to solve the problem?

Getting enough physical exercise has become increasingly challenging for a large number of people living in urban areas in these days. In this essay, I would evaluate the reasons behind the lack of physical exercises among metropolitan residents.

In almost large cities around the world now, we can observe that the development of economy and general society attract a huge number of people, followed by the propotion of competition in occupation has increased significantly. As a result, it is surely common for metropolitan individuals to become busier with heavier workload that limit their time and energy availability that they can spend on other activities as well as physical exercises. This is why urban citizens not only find it hard to allocate time for physical exercises but also face difficulty in health when doing them.

It is undeniable that most physical activities, especially sports are often designed for outside environment. However, urban areas such as park, community centers often attract a high portion of population, meaning that open spaces are restricted in quantity and size. Moreover, the air in big cities is really bad because of gas emmisions from cars, motorbikes or industrial companies. Therefore, practicing exercises in the spaces like that will impact on people’s health. Meanwhile, going on gym rooms can be not budget-friendly for some residents and also be not realistic for who like football, badminton,…

In conclusion, currently, individuals in metropolitan areas do not engage in sufficient physical activities because of two main reasons are the heavy workload and lack of open spaces due to crowdedness as well as air pollution.