It is difficult for people living in cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions can be taken to solve the problem?

Nowadays, getting adequate physical exercise has become a problem for a large number of individuals inhabiting in urban areas. In this essay, I would evaluate the reasons behind the lack of physical activity among metropolitan residents.

It is true that in some big cities, some people cannot spare a little time for fitness since they do not have enough time. This could be explained by the fact that the economy and the academic level are becoming increasingly higher with the development of the area. This creates better job opportunities with greater promotion chances, therefore, many people moved from rural areas to cities. As a result, the society becomes more competitive, and to avoid being replaced, many individuals have increased their workload. This approach has directly restricted them from having time for doing physical activities.

Another factor that contributes to the problem is the change in the habits. The development of technology and machinery has made our lives become more convenient than ever. These days, travelling has been easier because motorbikes and cars make the distances feel short. Even though they can still walk or cycle to other places to keep fit, their busy routines have forced them to choose to travel by automatic vehicles as saving time is crucial for them. Consequently, urban citizens are more dependent on these modes of transport and this can make them feel lazy to exercise in a long run.

In conclusion, urban inhabitants do not get sufficient exercise as a result of heavier workload and better modes of commuting.