It is important to give children opportunities to be independent and make decisions from an early age. To what extend do you agree or disgaree

I strongly agree with the statement that children should get choices to be independent and make decisions from an early age because it is an important practice that should be learned from young age because eventually it develops a strong and independent human being and also being self sufficient at the same time. Even the failures resulted by their choice will only develop wisdom within themselves which will in turn be a helpful life lesson for long term.

In today’s world we are continuously surrounded by things whether it would be a device or the busy working environment that we live in. Therefore, being alone is a difficult task also, people now rely on reviews or youtube feedback videos for even making a small purchase. Therefore living in such dependable environment it is necessary for children to learn independent decision making, because it will develop the character traits like independence, confidence, self- sufficiency etc. And this characteristic traits will be in use during children’s lifetime.

If we talk about failures that come from the children’s independent choices is also a good practice. Because it helps them to learn and jump back from their set backs in a stronger way. The set back teach some of the most valuable lessons to the individual which in returns creates a sense of wisdom and turns the individual into a wise human. Also, if the children will be protected from all the bad things he/ she will not learn the original working in life. Even researchers have demonstrated this, the researchers examined two type of students in which one took the decision for selecting the extra- curricular activity according to their intrest, whereas other children’s decision was taken by their parents. The study found that those who choose their activity by themselves were less anxious and more self confident whereas those whose decision was taken by their parents were more anxious and under confident.

Hence, Independent decision making is a necessary skill to be practiced from an early age in order to develop that trait and the failures will result in bringing wisdom within themselves. These character traits develops a strong individual which will help them throughout their lifetime.