It is more important to spend public money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, it is often said that public money should be spent on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness, than spending it on the treatment of ill people. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss two reasons for supporting my point of view.

There are a number of reasons why I believe that it is significant to encourage healthy living. One major reason is the money reduction of healthcare. Nowadays, healthcare requires large amounts of money to maintain its system, and with growing populations, it is becoming more expensive. This makes it impossible to ensure steady quality of healthcare in the long term, as modern economic conditions can not generate rising revenue for this purpose. A healthy population would need less treatment from official medicine, therefore the expense on healthcare would be less spending.

Another reason is that it would prevent prevalence of epidemics. New strains of infections spread extensively in unsanitary areas, and chiefly, this occurs due to carelessness of owners and visitors of these zones. This helps viruses and bacteria infect people in crowded places. For instance, during the epidemic of Covid-19, people who did not lead a healthy lifestyle suffered the most, because their immune system was not strong enough to struggle against the new infection.

To conclude, I strongly believe that promoting a healthy lifestyle is much better strategy in long-term future. This is mainly because modern economics and society’s culture fail to ensure the current expense of healthcare systems.