It is much easier to learn a language in a classroom with a teacher than from an app on your phone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people prefer face to face learning rather than learning on your own from the app on your phone. Despite the convenience of online learning, the advantages from interactive learning in a classroom outweigh it in terms of learning language.

Learning in a classroom with a tutor has a number of benefits. The main advantage is the student can ask directly to the tutor or classmates when facing a difficulty in understanding the lesson. This face to face interaction will ensure the improvement of the student. In fact, the classroom facilitates students to receive feedback from a more capable individual, in this case, the teacher. In addition, a class setting will create a competition between the learners, thus resulting in an active learning rather than passive learning where students will be motivated to perform better than their peers.

Nevertheless, there are also sound arguments about how learning with a teacher is more suitable for gaining knowledge for a new language than using an app. Nowadays, there is undoubtedly an increasing number of users of learning-language apps. For instance, duolingo has widely spread among students to help them learn languages anywhere and anytime. The problem with this app is that they lack context. Language is a tool for communication among people. Hence, we need interaction to sharpen our sense of language to use it in a situation accordingly. This is only supported if students are joining a class.

To sum up, despite the convenience of online learning, the advantages from interactive learning in a classroom outweigh it in terms of learning language. Learning in a classroom has two benefits, including direct feedback from professionals and classmates and competitiveness among students as motivation to improve. Although you can use an app anytime and anywhere, for learning language interaction with people is much more important.