It is neither nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A great deal of people subscribe to the view that it is both unfeasible and futile to grant access to university to a plethora of teenagers. I’m inclined to assert that this statement is rational and utterly agree with it.

There are two main reasons to justify my belief. The first one is that the major purpose of the university entrance examination is student’s classification, which is the process of sorting out students with high intellectual capability and exclusively granting those students access to university education. Thus, by rendering tertiary education available to a majority of teenagers, that process will be deemed pointless. Furthermore, it is seemingly unfeasible for the government to extensively provide tertiary education as the demand for the bachelor degree never ceases to rapidly rise. The government will be put on a dilemma of whether they should distribute more of their financial resources and therefore face bankruptcy.

Another valid reason is that if the majority of students gain admittance to university, it would lead to disorder in the workforce. For further explanation, little to no undergraduate would pursue a manual labor-intensive job such as working in a construction site as most of them would strive for a lucrative occupation, for instance, real-estate; let alone pursuing a career as a white-collar worker.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned demerits, I strongly contend that granting university admittance to a plethora of teenagers is not only irrational but also detrimental.