It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that there are insufficient students choosing science as their major in enormous countries. There are a variety of factors which lead to this matter, and the public may suffer from a loss.

Firstly, there are various reasons which leading a diminishing number of science pupils. It is clear that the content of the course is extremely difficult, like studying chemistry, you have to get in touch with Organic chemistry which is hard to understand the concept. Countless pupils noticed that they may not have the ability to choose science due to the complicated content and thus tend not to choose science as their major. In addition, it takes excessive years to finish the study compared to other courses, for instance, accounting. As we all know, scientific knowledge updates gradually. Students who choose to study science have to spend at least 10 years in education, as they have to choose a specific area to dig deeper into by doing excessive research and essay writing after their undergraduate studies, for example, the mRNA technique. Because of this reason, pupils hesitate in choosing science for their further studies.

Furthermore, with the decline of science professionals, the number of scientific breakthroughs will drop and thus it is hard to improve the standard of living. It is undoubted that scientific experts are involved in different research projects which aim to foster a better world, such as the invention of Wi-Fi where the public can access the internet unlimitedly. Take the COVID-19 pandemic as an example, the invention of new vaccinations is required to cure the disease, the biomedical scientists are engaged in the research due to the need for professional scientific knowledge, for instance, the genetic sequencing of the Coronavirus, the use of mRNA technique. Without scientific experts, we cannot get rid of the pandemic situation and restore normal life. On a whole, the reduction of science graduates may cause a decline in scientific innovation.

In a nutshell, the reasons are that the challenging content of the course requires many years of study before engaging in the research project, and the community will suffer from a loss due to the diminishing of science graduates.