It is often argued whether sport study have to be compulsory or non-academic subject for children.

It is often argued whether sport study have to be compulsory or non-academic subject for children. I strongly disagree with this view to some extent which I elaborate below.

On the one hand, we should not overlook that sport uses up time which could be better spent on academic subjects. Students already have a lot of academic classes that they have to learn, academic subjects are more important than sport activity. Children should utilize their time wisely, for example, prepare for exam is more crucial since their grades have impacts on university admission. Furthermore, it is unwise to force children to do activities which they have no interest in. Some youngsters should have the right to take courses that they want in the first place. To state further, some youngsters are just not sporty, and should be allowed to study instead. Some students have low level of fitness, they easily get tired from physical activities. For instance, tiredness from sport activity has an effect on their well-being.

Moreover, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at present. This lack of morals sets a poor example to young people. Subject of study in school should have high moral value because it brings effect on youngsters behavior.

In conclusion, from my standpoint, sport as a non-academic subject brings more important aspects, including children are given a wide range to choose from, ensure their interest is high, and the sports industry itself maintains the highest standards of conduct.