It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

There is a commonly held belief that if one stays in a country; it is unavoidable to act in accordance with their traditions, and so on. From my standpoint, it is essential to gain an understanding of the culture of the country one intends to visit. Therefore, it is evident that in order to learn about the culture, one must learn the language spoken in that country.

In any country you visit, you should consider yourself an ordinary guest, and as such, you must observe the customs and regulations of that country. It is essential to understand this point, as any respectable individual would not show disrespect in a visit, at least not until they have received the same treatment. This is a simple explanation: in any healthy relationship, you should receive the same level of consideration that you give. For instance, if you demonstrate unconditional respect for the laws of a particular country, then the other party should do the same, and vice versa. An exemplary case for this statement would be the situations in Dubai. When reviewing the news, one can notice that numerous people have been arrested for what may for us seem like “nonsense laws”. Nevertheless, regardless of how these laws may appear to us, it is essential to show respect for them and, in the event of a violation, face the consequences accordingly, rather than complain about them.

Regarding language, basic proficiency in the language is desirable, and in some cases, essential, in order to fully understand the culture of a country. However, considering current realities, the importance of understanding language in understanding the culture of a country is already diminishing. For instance, the concept of ‘siesta’ in Italian and Spanish cultures, it does not have an equivalent in any other language and, previously, due to the absence of the internet, people from other cultures could not be aware of such a word.

To summarize, it can be argued that when visiting a foreign country, we must unconditionally show respect for its culture, traditions, beliefs, customs, and religions. However, with regard to language, while it is a part of culture and should be taught in order to fully appreciate the local culture, in today’s modern realities, it is becoming less relevant by the day.