It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

There is a common belief that outsiders, while visiting new places, are supposed to copy and imitate the way local people behave and communicate. In my point of view, adapting and accepting the cultures of origin places is mandatory, since it provides deeper understanding and enriches peoples’ experiences. Additionally, there are several alternatives besides being fluent such as participating in cultural events and observing locals behaviors.

The vast majority of people believe that adjusting to local customs can enhance visitors’ understanding. A good instance of this is western travelers who visit a specific region in Asia. In this case, those people encounter differences; languages, symbols, religions, and traditions which means the adaptation skill is necessary in order to deeply understand. Moreover, there is an underlying assumption that accepting others’ values can enrich our experiences. As an outsider, the ultimate aim is to experience different nuances of others’s customs in their lives. Therefore, visitors can generate several merits and also build close-knit bonds with the host through the adaptation action.

Furthermore, there is a widespread belief that involvement in special ceremonies is the alternative. People who physically participate can possibly embody local values faster than those who just passively learn about local cultures. For example, a wedding ceremony in South Africa where the whole community collectively celebrates happiness. This event is culturally intertwined with various components of life. In addition, watching the way locals act on a daily basis is another alternative way. Action is a different type of communication, this is where they store the richness of their cultural values.

To sum up, embracing local customs and making the effort to understand can enhance visitors’ knowledge and experiences. On the other hand, joining local special occasions and watching the way people do are the other alternatives beside language.