It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

There’s a saying being told “when is Rome, do as the Romans do”. That is to say, individuals are ought to be adaptive and embrace the culture of the places they visit. In my point of view, I stand on the opposite side against the saying. Following is the reason why I disagree with this point.

First of all, though people can accelerate their paces to fit into new places with open mind, trying to accept their cultures and customs, there exist some practices or beliefs that may against to their way of living and religion. For instance, imaging that an Isrian has a long stay in a country where petting pigs in their homes are common. Should we strongly recommend an Isrian petting pigs in their living place? Given to the respect of Israin’s religion and belief, the answer is definitely no. Rather than forcing others to accept those against their willing of thoughts, we should consider more aspects that may affect their acceptance toward the culture.

As for learning the culture, If there’s no chances to exposure yourself into the place where the culture origin from, then learning its language is ought to be the most effective way to consider. Although we can’t experience the culture in person, however, we can get acquaintance with customs. living habits, and even history through their use of language, slangs as well as dialect. For example, in lunar new year, children always say blessing words to those who give them red envelops, and the blessing words are kinds of wordplay given to the same pronunciation.

In conclusion, if someone really eager to be integrated into local places, not only having an open mind to embrace and experience their culture but also learning the language can help get into the locals. At the meanwhile, we should evaluate the conditions whether we can truly accept and adapt to the culture or not.