It is predicted that in the future cars will be driven by computers. What are the reasons behind this? Would it be a positive or negative development?

In today’s fast-paced world, a growing number of people believe that Artificial Intelligence will operate a diverse range of vehicles in the future. Although computers exhibit human-friendly attitude and reduce human error, I firmly believe that it is a negative development.

To begin with, robots play a key role in curbing human error around the world. Computers tend to excel at tasks that require profound reasoning, which in turn helps them prevent the majority of car accidents that take place due to human errors. Additionally, a number of cutting-edge computers establish a friendly attitude with people. As state-of-the-art devices are manufactured to improve people’s safety, they are inclined to demonstrate human-friendly behaviors, which makes them great candidates for operating future transportation. For example, Artificial Assistance such as ChatGPT and Gemini present benevolent and considerate patterns regardless of people’s attitudes towards them.

However, I am of the opinion that implementing Artificial Intelligence tools into car algorithms is an adverse development. If robots substitute humans as car drivers, the vast majority of individuals will be deprived of their jobs, which triggers unemployment in the future. For instance, studies indicate that growing reliance on robots rather than humans leads people to lose their jobs and stable income. For this reason, robots should not be integrated in vehicles to discourage unemployment in the near future.

In conclusion, while computers present human-friendly interface and mitigate human error, in my opinion, it is a negative development. Given both sides, it is crucial to weigh both of them before making decisions.