It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is anticipated that with the advancement of technology, humans in 21st century will have much more leisure time. As far as I am concerned, I completely acknowldge that this prediction was correct.

In ancient time when there was a little technological development, people were engaged in diverse arrays of work. They has to their chores, field works, and their other daily life activities by themselves. Another thing is that most of time they has to rely on the traditional methods or equipments to perform various functions. Indeed these conventional techniques consume large proportion of time. But with advancement in technology, now a lots of work are performed by the new generation machines. These devices are more efficient and require less to perform same task compared to conventional machines. With advancement of technological revolution, many of works which were previously performed by humans are now performed by the robots, in this way humans are now getting lots of free time to relax. For example, in ancient period people used to plough their field manually using ox plough which was very time consuming, but with onset of modern innovations like tractors, ploughing now can be done very easily that too in lesser time.

However, many people believe with technological revolution people are getting more leisure time but sometimes it not always true. With technological development people are now mostly desk occupied that is with advancement of technology work pressure is also increasing. Now people are busy in race of developing new ideas and innovation. As a result many people are doing extended work so that they can develop new idea. For example, a recent report published by a government agency revealed that around an 40% of people are working for prolonged hours, and 60% are sleep deprived because of long working hours.

In conclusion, though with development of new technology, people in 21st century will have much more free time as most of works will be done by the robots so human will get plenty of time to relax. But with development of technology work load will also increase which will reduce the free time. This mean technological advancement comes with few advantages and disadvantages and we have to find a balance between these two.