It is suggested that everyone wants to have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages?

In the modern era when modern technology is developing day by day per individual is willing to possess a vehicle, TV or other home appliances. In this essay both ups and downs will be discussed. In my honest opinion, benefits of those can outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is known that these technologies are causing some problems relating to environment that as the number of private cars is rising, the percentage of greenhouse emissions is increasing as well. Additionally, appliances being utilized inside the houses are consuming a huge amount of the electricity, in addition to this, these technologies are generating detrimental fuels into the air. For example, it is inevitable that in every home at least a fridge, an oven and washing machine or a car are available and by using them on a daily basis we contribute to the production of fossil fuel and consumption of electrical energy. Another drawback is that people have to spend a large amount of money on purchasing and installing these devices or individualizing a new vehicle.

On the other hand, it impossible to imagine without these facilities our life since they offer an abundant number of conveniences on our hectic schedule such as warming leftover food in the morning in a hurry or driving personally to work rather than getting on a bus, train in traffic conjestiion.

What is more, we would be wasting a large amount of food every day, if we don’t use fridges in the hot summers. For instance, we are likely to purchase all food beforehand which is enough for a long time by relying on fridges.

To conclude, although the negative consequences of modern technology for the environment and consumerism, I belive that advantages can outweigh its drawbacks, take air conditioning or fridge as examples, that are dependent on regularly.