It is the responsibility of individuals to save and provide for their own retirement. Governments have no obligation to provide this benefit. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is an argument that the government does not have a responsibility to give any benefits to people who are retired, and they should manage their retirement by themself. I completely agree with this idea.

Firstly, it would be very difficult for the government to count the number of people who are poor and disadvantaged in some ways, and calculate the amount of taxes that can be reduced for these people. Furthermore, if the government helps these problems, it will have the issue that the government does not have enough money to develop the country, and there are more important problems that should be solved such as education, economic and health. So, the money of the country should be used for developing or solving the issues in the nation instead of providing to these people.

Secondly, If the people who are working and know that when they are retired the state will help them by giving the money for free, they would not try to achieve enough money for their retirement, and this issue can affect the country, because people would be lazy to make money by themself. In addition, nowadays, there are many occupations that people can do when they are retired or get old such as opening a company , store or doing an easy job to earn a little money. So, they do not need to wait for the government or rich people to help them.

In conclusion, in my opinion, as a member of society, people should manage their life after retirement , and the government does not have an obligation to help or provide money for the people who are impoverished or just too lazy to do their job.