It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to providing formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that schools should be accountable for teaching good demeanour alongside the provision of traditional academic learning. I mostly agree with this notion since schools are an effective environment for children to develop their behaviours and improve their interpersonal skills, although parents should also play a crucial role in the moral development of their offspring.

The first justification for my argument is that schools can potentially train students to become better individuals in society. This is because educational facilities often encourage positive behaviour by promoting values such as honesty, respect, kindness, and responsibility. By instilling these values in students through lessons, schools can help students foster empathy and understanding towards others. For instance, as moral lessons about being polite and respectful are delivered, pupils can acknowledge the importance of these codes of behaviours and tend to exhibit them in real life, becoming well-behaved individuals.

Another appealing reason is that schools can enable students to enhance their social skills. More specifically, by attending schools, which are considered representative of society, students can learn how to handle conflicts, resolve differences, and communicate effectively. These skills are crucial in their later lives, both personal and professional. To illustrate, those who misunderstand each other at school can devise a way to work together in team assignments and learn how to cherish their differences and value contradicting opinions. Consequently, they may gradually improve their communication skills.

However, the responsibility of teaching good behaviour cannot solely be the schools’ onus since parents also play a crucial role in shaping a child’s conduct. To be more specific, parents can become a good role model for their offspring to follow by behaving decently. To exemplify, they should speak politely, listen attentively, and avoid using abusive language or derogatory terms in order to set a good example to their children.

In conclusion, I maintain that schools should instill positive conduct in students as well as offer formal education due to their more conducive environment and ability to boost social skills; however, parental roles in this regard are also significant. It is advisable that parents and schools should work together in promoting positive values and imparting good manners in children.