It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to providing formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In addition to offering formal education, it is generally believed that schools have a duty to teach students proper behaviour. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement and this essay will provide evidence that supports my viewpoint.

Unlike parents, learning institutions have a unique opportunity to shape children’s behaviour. As a matter of fact, it is evident that children spend an excessive amount of time in school, where they are surrounded by their teachers and peers. Owing to their great influence on students, schools should be entrusted with the duty of developing good behaviour since they are in charge of enforcing a school-wide code of conduct and punishment policy. Given this responsibility, schools ought to devote sufficient resources and time, ensuring that behaviour training becomes an integral part of the curriculum. To accomplish this, educators should regularly maintain the balance between formal education and extracurricular activities like athletics, music, art, and volunteer work.

Good behaviour also contributes to the development of a welcoming and supportive school culture, which is widely recognised as one of the school’s primary duties. When schools prioritise positive behaviour, it can assist in mitigating bullying, aggression, and other inappropriate behaviours that pose a threat to students’ mental health and well-being. Since those who feel safe and respected at school are more likely to be actively involved and invested in their schoolwork, this strategy would not only help establish a welcoming and secure environment but also give rise to better academic performance. In addition, instilling core values in children such as honesty, integrity, respect, empathy, and kindness helps them be better equipped for their future roles as responsible members of the community, resulting in a more harmonious and inclusive society.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that along with delivering formal education, schools should be entrusted with the responsibility to teach their students proper behaviour.