It is widely argued that financial resources should be spent on building new modern apartments instead of repairing old buildings.

It is widely argued that financial resources should be spent on building new modern apartments instead of repairing old buildings. This essay partially agree that funds allocated to old structures should be used to construct modern buildings.

First and most importantly, not all old buildings should be preserved. Many ageing structures have little historical value and require substantial financial resources for maintenance. In such cases, replacing them with modern buildings can be a more practical and cost-effective solution, modern buildings are significantly more convenient than old ones. This is because they include several technologies such as elevators, centralized heating and cooling systems, and better insulation. These features are often absent in older structures, leading to discomfort for residents. Additionally, modern buildings are more secure, as they typically include advanced security systems, which are lacking in old buildings. For example, in Uzbekistan many of these buildings were constructed during the Soviet era unsafe and not visually striking.

Furthermore, new apartments provide advanced opportunities for individuals. Modern environments are designed with smart systems and technologies that enhance the quality of life for residents. For example, buying a flat in a modern building often comes with additional benefits, such as, individuals can choose the modifications to a building’s interior and exterior which are rare in older buildings. This highlights the importance of supporting new construction projects over preserving outdated ones for the future benefits of residents.

However, this is not the case for historic buildings, which holds hundred years of history. This can lead to loss of a century of history and cultural heritage that cannot be replaced. Repairing those type of buildings keeps the true history of a city alive for the future and draws visitors who want to see unique, ancient places.

Overall, while some old buildings with little historical significance can be replaced with modern alternatives, I believe that historically and culturally valuable structures should be preserved despite the costs involved.