It's thought by many people that the internet has caused people to become more isolated from society. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In contemporary times, the usage of the Internet has provoked controversy over the possible damage it may inflict upon the personal lives of its users. Despite countless merits that the World Wide Web offers, its excessive prevalence in people’s daily lives presents a significant risk. I am inclined to support this notion and firmly contend that individuals drift away from social communication when they spend a disproportionate amount of time online, which ultimately leads to a sedentary lifestyle and an increased level of desolation.

On the one hand, the invention of the Internet has entailed serious consequences for both physical and mental wellbeing. Reduced social communication skills are one of the major factors in today’s world as individuals become increasingly distanced from face-to-face interactions and create more superficial connections, which can often lack depth and lead to the illusion of relationships. As for physical health, it is undoubtedly tough to maintain a healthy lifestyle with a huge amount of time spent online. Not only does this reduce opportunities for physical activities, but it also poses a threat to eyesight and other sense organs. Furthermore, many neuroscientists nowadays alert the public to the poor level of concentration due to the immoderate amount of information our brains consume daily. A modern trend for short and quick content worsens the situation by creating dopamine pits, which can lead to higher rates of anxiety and depression.

From another perspective, the Internet has brought some significant benefits, such as extended access to information and communication around the world. People, even from the most remote areas, are able to engage with like-minded individuals and find diverse views, which are presented by numerous online communities. What is more, convenience plays a vital role as it makes many basic processes easier, such as ordering products, making an appointment, or making a payment. The Internet offers us a new level of accessibility, which was unavailable before.

In conclusion, while the Internet has certainly transformed our way of life, it has also outlined accompanying challenges. Digital engagement has an undeniable impact on social interactions and the traditional environment. Therefore, it is crucially important to actively counterbalance all occurring effects and be able to coexist between the real world and the digital one.