Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a large number of nations have witnessed remarkable transformation, which leads to traditional markets being replaced by huge shopping malls. This essay will discuss the main reasons behind this tendency and represent pros and cons of this development.

One major issue is that shopping malls are more convenient than traditional markets. Thanks to urbanisation, a significant increase witnessed in the number of population in many countries, which leads to increased shopping needs. In order to meet this change, the complex of utilities is constructed to meet citizen’s needs where residents can buy items which are within walking distance from their accommodation area instead of traditional markets which are located far away from residential areas. Another reason is that modern people prefer clear prices instead of poor markets where they have to bargain to get better prices. Indeed, in many traditional markets where sellers always want to get high profit, which leads to price of goods in poor markets, usually unequal prices among sellers, while shopping malls show clearly prices where customers can compare shops with each other before making a better decision to buy a product. Therefore, both geographical convenience, clear prices and urbanisation contribute to the change of using shopping malls instead of traditional markets.

One major benefit is that shopping malls may create job opportunities for residents who are living nearby. Because the complex of utilities is usually located close to the residential areas, people can apply for jobs to work. As a result, job problems are solved by opportunities from shopping malls. On the other hand, construction of a shopping mall causes some financial issues. Developers and authorities are required to invest a large amount of money in building materials, design, and modern facilities such as air conditioning systems, elevators and parking areas. Furthermore, the operating expenses remain high, as malls need continuous maintenance, security staff, electricity and marketing to attract buyers. If the investment is not enough or failure in management can cause financial pressures for investors and authorities.

In conclusion, replacing traditional markets with large shopping malls drives convenience and clear prices. Besides, shopping malls also have benefits about creating job opportunities and drawbacks about financial pressure.