Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, along with the growth of people’s shopping demand. The advent of giant shopping malls are replacing as well as overshadowing small shops. In my opinion, I hold a neutral attitude towards this notion.

On the one hand, advocates argue that the development of giant shopping malls bring numerous favorable influences. Firstly, shopping malls contribute to the skyrocketing development of the economy. This is explained by the fact that shopping centers are the complex of high-end boutiques and entertainment venues. It is not only a haven for shopaholics, but also it is a place where customers can embark on games as well as watch cinemas. Therefore, these places attract numerous customers as well as tourists. Secondly, shopping malls help individuals have a better life. To be more specific, individuals have a reliable place to purchase goods with high quality. Almost all products in shopping malls come from well-known international brands like Adidas, Nike or Lining. Furthermore, customers experience good customer service.

On the other hand, opponents reckon that the growth of giant shopping centers consists of some adverse impacts. Firstly, it deepens the escalation of real estate prices. Specifically, shopping malls usually are constructed in cities. It occupies vast areas, while the area for accommodation in cities is extremely few. Secondly, shopping zones affect negatively on the environment. It is clear that shopping malls consume enormous electricity. In addition, shopping malls release huge garbage everyday. By contrast, small shops take up less space and consume less power.

In conclusion, I am completely convinced that the growth of giant shopping centers to replace small shops include enormous positive aspects like developing the economy and providing better lives for residents. Nonetheless, citizens receive some negative impacts such as the escalation of real estate prices and it creates environmental issues.