Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, big cities tend to build large malls to consist many facilities and amenities. Shopping malls are built to replace with local shops. Although I admit that shopping malls bring some negative effects for people, I believe that they have positive aspects for people as a whole.

On the one hand, separate smaller stores bring some positive impacts. Firstly, smaller stores are family-run businesses which help their economies. Local people, due to not have enough money, try to launch a small business in the near their houses. Providing these businesses can enhance the rate of employment and the amount of income for local people. Secondly, local stores provide better and nearer customer services than large shopping malls and chain stores. Some stores locate between houses in a street, accessing them easily. When a family need some necessary things, they can purchase them in a short time, without needing transport with car.

On the other hand, I think that large shopping malls offer a wide range of benefits for people. Firstly, malls are usually constructed in good locations with several facilities such as parking and recreational facilities. They are located in either centeral or accessable-for-everyone areas of a city, which people can reach there by every means of transports. Secondly, they help people save time and money by providing various types of stores that located in one complex. They can offer many books, clothing, and grocery stores in coincide of place; customers can purchase all needed things from a place, with more compatitive prices than small shops.

In conclusion, malls are obstacle local and small businesses. However, in my opinion, they affect positively in different aspect of both economy and society.