Large supermarkets will be a death of small, local shops. Do you agree?

There is no denying the fact that huge supermarkets are going to kill smaller ones. While it is a commonly held belief that small shops have less customers compared to bigger shops, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that tiny shops have more powerful revenues than larger shops.

To begin with, small supermarkets have more customers because they have lower product prices.

In other words, it is a stratigic way for local shops to start with much lower prices than the average. In addition, they use this way to be more recognisable by people. For example, recent studies showed that lowering prices has more impact on sales than normal prices, even for small supermarkets

Another point to consider is that local supermarkets are everywhere, and are reachable for almost every one. It is also possible to say that most customers would want to go to a near by small shop than going to a bigger one just because it is big. For example, most families shop from a local, near by supermarkets because it is easier and faster for them.

In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that everyone should choose whatever they are comfortable with. It is really difficult to make people depend on shopping with one specific type of supermarkets. And I respect both ways.