Leaders and directors in an organization are normally older people. People think younger leader would be better. Do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that senior leaders and directors in companies and firms should be replaced by the younger ones. While acknowledging justifications for this thinking, I partly agree with this suggestion based on the following reasons.

On the one hand, managerial positions can be appointed to the young generation due to their creativity and adaptability in this technological changing world. Initially, becoming a leader requires people to be capable of comprehending the use of technology and catching up with the latest trend to have a better solution for monitoring and supervising employees. Besides, the young generations are technologically native, which assists them in making use of this strength to enhance the overall productivity of the workplace and generate innovative solutions for customers. For instance, many younger leaders have utilized applications to monitor hundreds of employees as well as using artificial intelligence to reduce reliance on human labours.

On the other hand, senior managers possess unique strength related to emotional maturity that can potentially help them contribute to their organizations’ structures. Granted, the leadership role typically goes hand in hand with working with people and problem solving skills, which means a good manager must understand others’ mental health and have wise strategies to deal with unexpectedly arising conflicts. Since the seasoned generations often accumulate more hands-on experience and life circumstances, reaching a higher level of maturity in order to make informed decisions, helping them tackle these major hurdles much better than younger individuals.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether older or younger individuals are more suitable to leadership positions, I do believe that each age cohort takes control of their own novel traits to a company. While younger managers can bring new visions and harmony among traditional and technological working methods, the older are in possession of life experience.