Learning a foreign language at an early age is becoming increasingly common in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning a second language as a child?

In contemporary society, it is increasingly popular to study a non-native language from an early stage of life. The main advantages of this are the differences of brain development between youngs and adults, and career opportunities in later life. However, the key disadvantages of learning a second language are confusion or language mixing, and less focusing on native language.

There are many advantages of acquiring a foreign language, such as brain development. Young children’s brains are highly adaptable than their breadwinners, and parents should make it easier for them to learn new languages. Speaking fluently and naturally in two languages boosts memory, problem-solving, and critical thinking skills in child development. Additionally, being bilingual from an early age gives children an advantage in the global job market. Also, it improves communication skills and cultural adaptability. For example, preparing during childhood, breaking the world record, and getting a 9.0 in the IELTS at the age of 17 is one of the reasons why the future of a Kazakh-Caderali is bright.

While having two linguistic skills offers many benefits, it is not without its drawbacks, including extra pressure while confusing or language mixing. Youngsters may mix vocabulary and grammar from both means of communication, especially in early stages. This can temporarily affect their fluency in their language, moreover, it can be overwhelming for some kids. Another key drawback is focusing too much on a second language. It may delay full development of the first language and struggle with academic subjects in their mother tongue. Sometimes this overwhelming cause frustration or loss of interest. For instance, a young child who spends most of their study time learning English in an international school might fall behind in their native language, such as Kazakh or Russian, especially in reading and writing. This could affect their performance in school subjects that rely heavily on their first language.

In conclusion, studying a non-native language gives children more opportunities in their future cognitive growth and in long-term employment. However, learning a foreign language may cause blending of two languages and less focus on one’s mother tongue.