Lecturers at universities should not assign homework to students. Do you agree or disagree?

While universities tend to assign more homework for students, most students reject the system of assignment in university because it stresses them a lot. From my perspective, I side with the idea that assignments should be a requirement in university, which means it can have a positive impact on the development of education in university and improvement of personalities.

To start with, assignment advantages university as a development in education. First, teachers can particularly control each student in their class. In fact, most mistakes stem from misunderstanding the lesson are expressed through assignments, so teachers can base on the results then conclude where the problem is and find out the decisions. Second, the harder the assignments are, the more potential students are. Nowadays, more universities prefer the marks on assignment than on the exams, which means they make the homework more challenging to the students with a variety of types, and if the students can pass it they will have more potential to develop their knowledge and benefit to their future.

Regarding individuals, the way assignment can improve personalities is the self-study skill. According to a survey in Viet Nam, it points out that the percentage of students who have self-study skill is absolutely low, 12 percent of all students in the country. Therefore, assignments require students to be more focused on their study.

Overall, assignments not only benefit education but also directly impact self development.