Lecturers at universities should not assign homework to students. Do you agree or disagree?

While universities tend to assign more homework for stundents, most students identify they are stressed by the duty of doing homework so they reject the system of assignments in university. From my perspective, I side with the idea that assignments should be a requirement in university, which means it can have a positive impact on the development of education and improvement of personalities.

To start with, assignment advantages university as a development in education. First, one significance is the personalized attention that teachers can provide to individual students. In fact, most mistakes stem from misunderstanding the lessons are expressed through assignments, so teachers can analyze the assignment submissions, then conclude where the issue is and find out the decisions. Second, the harder the assignments are, the more potential students are. Nowadays, more universities prefer the marks on assignment than on exams, which means they make the homework more challenging and complex for students. By that way, universities encourage more students to elevate their knowledge and skills, ultimately preparing them better for the future.

Regarding individuals, the way assignment can improve personalities is through self-study skill. According to a survey in Vietnam, it points out that the percentage of students who have self-study skills is absolutely low, 12 percent of all students in the country. Consequently, assignments advise students to be more focused on their study.

Overall, assignments not only contribute to academic progression but also directly impact personal development. Therefore, I encourage the duty of complete assignment should be the significance in university.