living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Living in a foreign country where one is required to communicate a new language can possibly lead to social challenges. While some people can deal with this challenge with ease, I strongly believe that without having proficiency in the local language can lead to serious consequences in both personal and social domains.

Research has indicated that speaking a foreign language poses a psychological threat for many individuals. Immigrants living in a different culture and unable to speak a local language find it difficult to build relationships with those they come and contact with whether at work or at school. Failing to understand local culture and tradition makes them feel isolated which leads to frustration and violence. For some introverted people, they might find it alright to be alone and have less contact with other people, but for most people, causing unintentional damage in that process seems inevitable.

On the social level, going to workplace without understanding the working procedure clearly leads to inefficiency and misunderstandings. Even though the instructions are quite straightforward, lack of understandings can lead to time-consuming and costly workload. Consequnetly, the relationship between subordinates and management teams can also be jeopardized because of this poor performance. Additionally, if foreign workers wanted to make currency exchange or remittance to their home country, they might find it impossible to do so because of poor language proficiency.

In conclusion, inability to speak a local language leads to many psychological and social problems. These challenges underscore the importance of language proficiency if one wants to strive in a multicultural environment.