Living in big cities causes severe consequences. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to modernization, a majority of people nowadays lives in big cities. There is a claim that such innovation affects humanity in many harmful ways and this essay completely agrees with it since individuals’ health may be affected by many factors in big cities, namely carbon footprint and overcrowding.

Residing in modern cities can negatively affect most of the population. One of such effects is carbon footprint. Nowadays, big cities are crowded with vehicles that emit excessive amounts of carbon dioxide, which pollutes the air, making it dangerous to breathe, which can also bring potential lung disease in the long run. For example, in Kazakh cities such as Temirtau or Almaty, such emissions made breathing air equivalent to passive smoking.

Another harmful effect of dwelling in big cities may have is overpopulation, specifically – overcrowding. It is becoming more concerning with the fact that the population of our planet has rosen significantly for the past decades, which yields difficulties for some individuals. For example, in modern metropolises overpopulation causes many inconveniences for its residents – such as housing problems, unbearable traffic jams, along with job shortage.

However, some people still argue that humanity should aim towards developing or modernity since that might bring advantages for making more breakthroughs in specific aspects such as science, or medicine. Yet this essay firmly holds a belief that downsides of living in large sites brings more harm than the opposite.

To conclude, this essay claims that residing in modern cities and metropolises brings harm to humanity, such as potential diseases due to carbon footprint and encounterment of challenges caused by overcrowding.