Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Nowadays the numbers of people living in larger cities is increased significantly and keeps increasing. This problem results in extreme overcrowding and government should take measures to make living outside cities more appealing.

Several factors are at the root of the problem of living in big cities. One of the most obvious issue might be related to population density. The large number of people might cause the increase of house prices, traffic and pollution as well. For instance, the house prices in metropolis like Tokyo or New York have soared to the point that just few people can afford to buy houses while the lower middle class is more inclined to pay a monthly rent. Also, regardless to the financial status all the city dwellers have to deal with a lot of traffic jams due the increase of the population as we can see in big cities such as Beijing in China.

Many actions can be taken into consideration to solve the issue. For example, the government could promote and encourage all citizens to live in smaller town as it could solve pollution and traffic jam’s problem. Also, living in smaller towns allow people to purchase a house at a lower price compared to the big cities house prices.

To sum up, the government should really encourage city dwellers to live outside the cities as the quality of air is definitely better compared to the city’s air and the traffic jam is very low or almost non-existent.