Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

In an era characterized by pressing environmental problems, residing in metropolises can lead to repercussions for individuals. While there are serious consequences behind this situation, I believe that the government should not inspire people to live in suburban areas.

Why does living in urban areas cause problems? With construction projects, including the usage of excavation, harmful chemicals, and diesel-powered machinery, harmful pollutants are released into the atmosphere, which intensifies greenhouse effects. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that these human activities degrade air quality, thereby posing not only cardiovascular diseases like heart strokes and attacks, but also respiratory conditions like asthma, chronic bronchitis, and emphysema. This is particularly detrimental for densely populated and poorly managed regions, which find it hard to keep air pollution, and climate change, as well as ozone layer depletion, in check.

However, in my opinion, the government should not encourage people to not reside in cities. With well-equipped laboratories, peaceful and tranquil libraries, sitting arrangements, technologically rich learning environments, air-conditioned and spacious classrooms, along with well-designed universities, schools, and vocational centers, students have access to world-class educational institutions, which makes them technologically savy, coupled with a competent workforce, thereby not inspiring them to live in smaller towns. Gone are the days when students have struggled with limited educational opportunities in rural areas, as today’s cities’ house top-tier educational facilities, thereby excelling academically and graduating successfully.

In conclusion, although residing in cities causes health-related problems, I believe that the government should not stress the importance of living in suburban areas. Only through living in urban areas can people access state-of-the-art educational facilities.