Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

– It is true that, the size of cities is getting incrementally bigger, and more people gravitate towards living in those cities. Although, this trend my cause several negative consequences, governments can promote living in smaller towns to mitigate the problems.

As more individuals chose to live in bigger cities, several problems can be anticipated. First, if a town is considered a massive one there will be more hustle and bustle. In other words, there will be more room for various institutions, such as universities, shops, hospitals, restaurants and so on. As a result, there would be more congestion and overcrowding which will lead to stress and anxiety among citizens. Another problem could be argued that people would be less connected to their neighborhoods due to large numbers of citizens and get even depressed because of loneliness.

There are several actions that government can take in order to reduce some problems in large cities. Firstly, governments can attract individuals to reside in smaller towns by improving infrastructure and particular facilities for good quality lifestyle. For instance, they can invest in universities of relatively smaller towns for hiring best instructors. As majority of congestion stem from huge number of students in large cities due to the number of educational institutions, this would be great idea to make students continue their education in smaller towns with high-quality universities. This way governments can significantly reduce the density in bigger cities. A second measure can be taken to incentivize residents of large cities to migrate to smaller towns. Governments can increase the amount of taxes in big cities, and people would definitely consider moving to more affordable towns.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems of large cities as they become stressful and hard to live in.