Living in large cities today poses many problems for people. What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Living in metropolises causes numerous issues for their citizens. In my opinion, these concerns are associated with the growing population in urban areas, and the chief ones are related to population density.

Although most cities in the world have a relatively large area, the spike in accommodation costs, traffic jams, and severe pollution are inevitable as a result of the increasing number of city dwellers. Take Hanoi as a prime example; obviously, the price for an apartment in this capital of Vietnam is surging, which prevents the youth from finding affordable accommodation. As for traffic, most of the inhabitants are struggling with commuting, since the non-stop rise of residents is generating pressure on the constant size of urban centers, leading to severe traffic congestion. The same effect is seen in pollution; for instance, the air quality in New Delhi, which is the primary center of India, persistently reaches unsafe levels most of the time. Consequently, people living in this city have to deal with countless health problems, such as asthma and lung cancer.

Personally, city councils are responsible for inspiring people to move to remote areas. If no action is taken, cities in the world are going to expand uncontrollably. Imagine a scenario of dwelling in an overcrowded and seriously contaminated environment; the possibility of humans becoming extinct is unavoidable. In order to prevent this tragedy, authorities can levy taxes on the corporations located in rural areas; thus, it can attract more people to move outside of big cities to find professions.

In conclusion, doubts linked to population density, which are the major factors resulting in overpriced habitation costs, jam-packed transportation, and inhospitable atmospheres, should be solved by encouraging privileged people to move to remote spots. If this is implemented, humans may still have to face these issues in the future, but at least their seriousness will be devaluated.