Living in the big city is bad for people's health. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that living in big cities can negatively affect people’s health. Personally, I partly agree with this opinion because although living in urban areas provides people with better living conditions, it can also bring some health risks.

On the one hand, there are some persuasive rationales why people lean towards big cities to live. Firstly, modern cities provide better facilities and services than rural areas. For instance, there are more good schools and universities for young people, as well as modern hospitals with qualified doctors. These hospitals allow people to receive better healthcare. Secondly, living in a city offers people abundant career opportunities. Many individuals, especially from poor backgrounds, migrate to cities in search of good jobs and earn a better income to improve their quality of life.

On the other hand, despite the above favorable aspects, opponents claim that life in cities can negatively impact people’s health. The main cause might be air pollution caused by traffic and factories. In many developing countries, citizens often suffer from diseases such as asthma or lung infections due to dirty air. As well as, a subsequent factor could be because wastewater from factories sometimes pollutes rivers and lakes which can affect the water supply of city residents. As a result, people living in big cities may face more health problems than those in the countryside.

In conclusion, while I believe that living in big cities can benefit people in better education, healthcare, and jobs, I also think that city life can sometimes do harm to people’s health because of pollution. Therefore, a number of actions should be taken to mitigate these problems to make cities healthier spots to live.