Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Over the last decades, scientists have been researching and studying longevity. Improving the elderly people’s welfare can prolong their existence in this world and, therefore, enhance their retirement experience by enriching it and making their lives overjoying and vigorous. In this essay, I will delineate a couple of significant ameliorations in society which emanate from a longer life span of the older generation.

Starting with the cultural and educational contributions, which can be made by the elderly, it is fair to mention their wisdom and knowledge accumulated during their considerable life journey. Many aged people faced historical events such as wars, the formation of new states or the lives of renowned persons who passed away. They are familiar with antique customs and old-fashioned lexicon. The knowledge they possess can be conveyed to future generations in order to preserve cultural and linguistic peculiarities.

Another contribution that can be made is the promotion of intergenerational understanding. The more energetic and healthy the older generation is, the better they are able to keep up with the robust youth, erasing the misconceptions between generations which could stem from senility, memory loss movement disorder. Another benefit is reduced pressure on working-age citizens since improved well-being will allow old people to continue to work. That also means less burden on healthcare facilities due to the decrease in chronic illnesses, resulting in the general augmentation of the population’s health.

In summary, elderly people are a tremendous and essential part of the social structure. The prosperity of senior citizens prevents the fragmentation of society into superiors and inferiors and promotes egalitarism between various age categories fulfilling the needs of every social group.