Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Medical technology developing rapidly in recent years, average human age is getting higher than before. That means, when people get to the age of sixty-five and retire from their company, it’s no longer the period just for waiting to the death. As the average age of human above eighty, after sixty-five years old is no longer an “old age”, they might still have more than ten years to live in the world. Within that period, finding something to do is the major mission for those people who retired from the work.

People after retirement, because they finish the major mission in their life: “work”. They are rich of the time. Most people who are not well prepared for this situation will get bored in a short period. When a person gets bored, he definitely will think too much. And if those thoughts can not be shared with other people, it might have a bad effect on the person. For example the personality getting weird, or even hurt himself or someone else.

So giving something to the retired person is very important. For some people could go back to their old company to be the consultant. Share his experience and keep contributing to the company. Other people could support some basic mission in the society, for example: grabbing the garbage on the street, supporting the information desk in the hospital or library, and grouping together to take care of homeless people. For many people who actually need something to do everyday, that is the reason for those people to open their eyes in the morning.

To summerise, I think for most people who need a “mission” to wake up every morning. Without that mission will make people easily get bored and do something unpredictable. Retirement people are the high risk group of losing mission. So that give them a mission to contribute the society, and avoid them getting board. It’s a win-win situation in both side.