Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Nowadays, technological and science development significantly extend span and quality of life. Many people over 65 could continue to live a fulfilling life. Older generation may contribute to society improvement by working in some types of jobs and volunteering. In this essay I shall provide examples to illustrate my point of view.

First and foremost, elderly people have plenty of free time during retirement and can sometimes even get bored. Hence, they might work on several socially beneficial and non-physical jobs. For instance, being a librarian is a fairly quiet job which also provides an opportunity to bring up a love of books in the younger generation. Thus, elderly individuals could make a significant impact on the development of future civilization while avoiding loneliness.

Secondly, it is clearly seen that seniors have a stunning life experience which could be shared with youngsters. Their priceless knowledge should be used to inspire children for the future and foster strong moral character. For example, elders may make volunteer visits in schools in order to give lectures about history, literature and sciences. This approach would certainly help a young generation to understand some serious and complex things in life much faster than in years of their own experience. This will significantly benefit the community in the future.

To sum up, contemporary improvements in healthcare, which provide life span rising, actually help older people to live fruitful and active lives. They exactly could make a significant contribution to society by working in community service and volunteering in public places.