Machines are taking over more and more jobs previously done by humans. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

It is argued that human jobs are being taken over by machines. This essay suggests that there will be less mistakes while operating and increasing productivity are the biggest advantages, but widespread job loss and the lack of human skills are the primary disadvantages.

The main advantages of machines taking over human jobs are minimizing errors during operation and improving productivity. With technological advancements, such as artificial intelligence and autonomous systems. Many tasks can be completed more quickly and effortlessly by machines. For example, in China several restaurants have replaced human waiters with robots for food delivery and machines are used in kitchens for tasks such as cooking burgers in convenience stores.

Despite these advantages, machines are going to replace the opportunity for humans to gain employment. Skill levels among individuals may decrease. This is because, as is commonly recognised, soft skills are influential things, such as public speaking, problem solving, and how we communicate with each other. Furthermore, with the increasing use of robots as a substitute for humans in the world of work, this may result in people losing the potential to get employment. In such a way, there will be a rise in the number of people becoming economically dependent. For instance, Korea is aggressively pursuing replacing 10,000 employees with 855 automated systems in the manufacturing sector.

In conclusion, although the advantages of machines have clearly taken over human jobs, it is highly beneficial for technological sustainability. On the other hand, this situation could result in an upward trend in unemployment rates due to the increasing reliance on automation.