Machines are taking over more and more jobs previously done by humans. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion.

It is true that the role of machines in human’s life are constantly increasing over the last decades that it has become normal to see machines doing the number of works. While there are serious consequences of this automation, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages of utilizing machines for people and society. First of all, involving more machines in production and processing will cut the number of employers that results in high rate of unemployment and loss of income. Consequently, it would difficult for people to afford life important products and necessities that may increase poverty level. Secondly, typical machines requires energy to operate thus the demand for electrical supply would increase. This results in burning the significant volume of fossil fuels such as coal and gas to generate more electricity, which would lead to an environmental pollution. In addition, the most of machines are so complex and expensive, that needs high-qualified engineers for services and a huge capital investment.

On the other hand, the utilizing machinery forces bring the number of benefits that overcome its disadvantages. In terms of productivity, machines or robots could work without any stop for rest and sleep, which are inherent for human. For this reason, the production capacity as well as profit will be higher when machines are used instead of workers. In terms accuracy, specific tasks require high level of precision, which are difficult to reach without machine. For instance, nowadays, the robots are successfully employed for the serious surgery like the human heart replacement because of low level of risk and high accuracy. Using robots have significantly improved the level of automation and medicine.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of utilizing machines for society are greater than the drawbacks.