Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, exploding the internet and innovative technologies involve digital revolution, the library’s role becomes fader. Hence, some people argue that the social funds used for preserving libraries are useless. However, others believe that libraries are keeping values which cannot be replaced by internet or innovative technologies. This essay will examine both outweigh and drawbacks for these perspectives.

Nowadays, some people do not highly appreciate the role of libraries, and they assume that government or organizations should not spend national budgets to rebuild or preserve libraries which are considered being old or out of service, because it could not offer practical benefits to current modern society. They believe that innovative technologies are enough capacity to replace the role of libraries in providing information or necessary document sources to students or searchers rapidly and accurately anywhere and anytime, such as at home or public places.

In contrast, others argue that the libraries have been keeping their core values which could not be replaced by digital technologies. For instance, Libraries are not only the places to search the necessary documents or information but also places facilitate the students are able to do teamwork about the assigned projects conveniently or exchange the knowledge which they desire to do research deeper. Besides that, libraries are the best place for everyone to take short snaps or unwind at noon after periods of stressful learning. All these things will not be handled by technologies or internet.

In conclusion, even with rapid development of technology provides several conveniences in academic. But I believe that, vital role of libraries could not be un-recognized by their core values, government and authorities should preserve and conserve it.