Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that retaining community libraries is no longer necessary in today’s world because the development of computer technology has allowed us to access a great deal of information on the Internet more efficiently. I side with those people who believe that the function of online libraries can substitute for public libraries for two reasons as follows.

First of all, online sources can store a huge amount of information that is greater than any physical library. This allows researchers to easily get the information they need without having to travel to a local library. News, stories, new works,… can be updated the fastest on social media so people can get the latest news every day. Whatever you need such as life, education, job or so on are all available on the internet. That’s why it’s more important to choose this means of accessing information that makes you feel happy and convenient than to buy and read in public libraries.

Secondly, the proliferation of online material sources is undeniable. This is due to the constant advancement in technology nowadays, the first thing that attracts people to reading information online is its easy access. For instance, these days, people with portable devices, such as smartphones, laptops, and computers, can approach a huge storage of knowledge in just a few clicks. Hence, the benefits of online libraries that keep you satisfied outweigh the drawbacks of media platforms in a long- term perspective.

In summary, I strongly believe that computer technology can modify public libraries in some ways, despite the advantages of physical libraries in providing information.