Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that social reading homes can be replaced by online media and investing in them is a waste of budget. I strongly disagree with this perspective, as many people, especially elder citizens, are not familiar with new technologies, and also these online platforms are full of distractors.

To begin with, the number of elderly people is at a peak, and these groups of the population are not well exposed to the new advancements of technologies. So, these platforms are not used by them for learning purposes. Instead, they prefer reading or gaining information using physical books. On the other hand, along with learning, these places are also hubs for social gatherings where people can express their thoughts, ideas, and emotions during these events. For instance, my grandfather feels more fulfilled after visiting the library as he can have learning and gathering at a time.

Additionally, online sites are most often distracting as new advertisements pop up every minute. This breaks our focus and concentration, disrupting the understanding process on the subject. For example, last Monday while I was using an application for reading an anatomy book, I was really disappointed because of frequent videos and other marketing ads on the screen.

In conclusion, many people debate over the utility of libraries due to technological advancement and claim that it is unnecessary to invest in them, but I firmly believe that these infrastructures should be preserved as a large elder population is unaware of how to use online media, and online platforms are distracting too. Therefore, the government should establish more such places so that everyone benefits from it.