Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that public libraries can be replaced by computers and here are no reasons to continue their maintenance, because governments can invest money in more important things. Although I agree that computer technology has changed the way people find new information, I do not think that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money.

On the one hand, our world has been rapidly changing for the last 30 years, due to the new information technologies we have acquired. Since computers have turned out to be highly convenient tools, humanity has already started using them to simplify repetitive tasks such as storing, searching and containing. As these simplifications become more common, people tend to give preference to computers, in place of traditional services, because in some cases it is easier to use our devices to solve problems. For instance, when people live far away from libraries, they will certainly find information or books on the internet, due to its mobility and availability. That is why computers can be a better choice for many people.

On the other hand, the library is still a source of free paper books, which are in demand among readers. Although there is an immense amount of information on the internet, new books, magazines, and journals cost money, and sometimes it is better to test book before buying it. For example, if you are not sure if a certain book is appealing to you and you do not want to spend much money on it, you can use the service provided by the library. Moreover, the screen of modern devices can be very distracting and uncomfortable for many people. Therefore, the library remains an essential place for those who are interested in comfortable reading.

To conclude, despite the fact that information technology has definitely made it easier to study and learn many things, I believe that libraries are still important for us and their maintenance is not a waste of money.