Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Public libraries are the store-house as well as treasure of the community. With the developing modern technology, people believe that funding for public libraries are waste of money. In my opinion, public libraries are not just a space for storing book but preserving and sharing our history and knowledge together.

In this 21st century, where advanced technologies have shown such incredible potential in all fields of development, it is normal for people to think of eradicating public libraries. It is true that mankind has developed tiniest devices that has huge storage capacity and is portable enough to be carried in a pocket. It has made it easier to find all kinds of information to be searched within a click from any part of the world. But the technology cannot be fully trusted since data can be easily erased by virus as well as through hacking. The devices to be used for such technology are expensive and require other resources as electricity and internet. It is not possible for every people to afford it.

However, public libraries store physical copies of book. These places keep record and maintain the quality of books. There are many documented books from ancient times which are in itself a history and treasure. Even people with low understanding of technology has the ability to read a book. The library itself can be the identity of the community.

In conclusion, Public libraries are not just a place of storage but a space of exchanging information and history. In my opinion, it is a museum of knowledge that needs to be preserved and not to be thought as waste of money.