Make a feedback on the simulation on the negotiations withing the Green Climate Fund

Personally speaking, the simulation on the work of the Green Climate Fund was the easiest for me, since there were no so many antagonisms among participants, and the flows of thoughts from different people weren’t so confusing compared to the previous simulation. However, before the simulation I noticed that there is no mediator chosen, and I thought that you, Mgr. Lukáš Hájek, will be a mediator as an unexpected move. Moreover, as for the last simulation in the format of negotiations, I thought that there will be introduced some very unexpected, for instance, change in the situation or in data, to test the negotiation sides how they reflect to the unexpected situations. My judgments were based on the worst-case scenario, where the worst is the most difficult, but fortunately, or unfortunately it did not come true, and I like how the simulation was carried out.

Also, regarding how I estimate my participation into the negotiation. As far as I can see, it is my second-best simulation participation after the Coalition Formation in Germany (in both I like my performance on the approximately same level, but the second one gave me moral satisfaction since the topic of urban and regional transport is very close to me). Before the current simulation, I allocated all possible projects to choose in both mitigation and adaptation by places and colors, where green was the best for Malaysia (4 projects), yellow – acceptable (2 projects), red – unacceptable (3 projects). Fortunately, all of us instantly negotiated and agreed on all “green projects”, where I also see my role as lobbying for the projects. Also, one yellow project was agreed. Hence, I believe that Malaysia ensured choosing of the best options for it.

However, there wasn’t everything so smooth. About 2/3 way through the simulation, I noticed and said that the money between adaptation and mitigations are not divided equally. Then, at the end of the simulation, I repeated it. However, then I saw that neither side was reacting strongly to it; and after that I weighted the priorities, and decided that my efforts don’t worth insisting on the necessity to solve the problem. However, reconsidering my decision now, I believe that I would better continue to insist on the problem simply out of stubbornness and principles.

Also, I gained much knowledge about the aspects of work of the Green Climate Fund. Namely, during the preparation, I got acquainted with the details of its one project and understood the principles of both offering your project for the GCF and participating in the already existing project. Additionally, 10 minutes before the simulation I talked to Ivan Alieksieiev, and he told me about the role of World Bank in the activities of the Fund – I acquired also this information. But during the simulation itself, I don’t remember that I yielded some new knowledge in the GCF work area, I just improved my negotiation and money allocation skills.

In a nutshell, I enjoyed the simulation. I estimate my participation in it as the sufficient level, with the remark that I did not insist further on compliance with the rules for distributing money. This simulation gave me a new vision of ways to solve existing climate problems and introduced me to the work of the Fund. Also, in the future, I want to use the gained knowledge to correctly understand which projects Ukraine can participate in within the framework of the GCF.