The movement of people from the countryside into the cities is happening in many parts of the world, resulting in the problems, especially in cities. What are the causes of this movement, and how can it be reversed.

In recent years, there has been a significant shift of people from rural to urban areas. This phenomenon is primarily driven by a search for better jobs and basic needs services in cities, nevertheless, this migration can effectively be addressed by investing in rural infrastructure and moving more opportunities that are currently priviledged for citizens to people in the countryside.

On the one hand, the main causes that make rural inhabitants moving to city centres are the urge to have better careers and essential demands such as education or healthcare systems. Compared to the countryside where jobs are often poorly paid and little workplace benefits, city is definitely better for individuals to apply for higher salaries and employee rights such as health insurance or maternity. For instance, young generation coming from rural regions tend to leave their hometown to the urban centre for diverse job opportunities and also a professional working environment. Additionally, better living conditions are also a reason to this rural-urban migration. In rural areas, public services like schools, hospitals or public infrastructures still have not really developed, while those amenities in urban areas have already been advanced with major universities and professional medical services. So the poorly-developed infrastructures and living quality in rural regions compared to modern basic needs services and job opportunities can be main reasons leading to massive shift from countrysides to cities.

On the other hand, sudden population growth also causes pressure on city facilities and life quality, however, this can be tackled by improving rural utilities and balancing populations in both regions. Governments can focus on rural development by upgrading local facilities such as roads, schools, working places, so that people can be provided enough job prospects and living standard to stay in their hometown. Furthermore, along with investing in rural regions, urban areas also need to relocate factories, businesses and housing projects to relieve population pressure in the centres. By moving those working and living services to nearby regions, this can even the population density, leading to a more balanced people distribution. To sum up, overcrowding in cities caused by rural migration has been a heated issue, but by balancing investment and population distribution, this problem can be greatly addressed.

In conclusion, though urban areas attract rural residents with greater career and living conditions, this movement can be curbed by narrowing the development gap between metropolitan and rural areas.