Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is his a positive or negative development?

In this generation, the trend of many adults turning to entertaining video games has been one of the most prevalent phenomena being discussed. With the development of game technology, it is understandable that video games are treated as a tool to escape from reality and relieve stress. Personally, I think this is a positive trend because it offers adults entertainment in today’s overwhelming world.

One of the most prominent reasons for this is the tendency of having a stressful job. Many people believe that the adulthood life stage demands adults to face a fast-paced and competitive environment. Consequently, many people work for hours with little leisure time to compete with coworkers. Psychologically, people who work non-stop tend to experience burnout because human brains are not designed to handle high-level tasks simultaneously. In addition, this issue pushes adults to find a coping mechanism such as playing video games. Playing video games boosts dopamine levels in the brain to decrease cortisol levels, the hormone that is responsible for stress.

Overall, this is a welcoming trend as it suppresses negative thoughts that can lead to mental fatigue. Before this phenomenon happened, numerous adults were taught to suppress their feelings to adapt in the work environment. In contrast, the development of modern digital games enables workers to distract themselves from depression. For instance, suicidal rates in Korea are often initiated by massive workloads; to prevent further incidents, many adults utilize smartphones to play games that can release stress.

In conclusion, the rising trend of video games consumption among adults is mainly caused by high work demands in the contemporary world. I firmly believe this is a positive trend, as engaging in video games helps release stress through entertainment.