Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is his a positive or negative development?

It is often argued that in the modern world a lot of adults spend their leisure time mainly playing computer games. This essay will discuss the main reasons behind this trend and explain why I believe it is a negative development.

One of the primary reasons for this phenomenon is that technological developments change people’s recreation preferences. For instance, many of us opt for playing computer games instead of traditional leisure activities, such as reading books. Another contributing factor lies in the fact that playing computer games recognized by us as a way to socialise. To illustrate, many computer games, like World of Tanks or PUBG include chats where people can talk with each other and enjoy together easily without going outdoors.

I believe this is largely a negative development because excessive gaming can have several harmful effects on adults’ lives. One major drawback is that spending long time playing computer games often reduces physical activity. For example, many adults spend several hours sitting in front of a screen after work instead of exercising or participating in outdoor activities, which may lead to health problems such as obesity. Moreover, it can influence negatively to people’s social life by taking time away from more meaningful and beneficial activities.

To conclude, while there are several reasons why people tend to spend their free time playing computer games, I believe that it is generally a negative development.